To Argyll

Off to Argyll this weekend for the Rally of Argyll. I’m too wee to remember rallies in Argyll, but the forests are supposed to be pretty good in that part of the world. In fact, I’ve not been to Argyll at all since I was seven and we were passing through on our way to catch a ferry to Mull from Oban for a family holiday. More importantly, a sizable number of drivers and co-drivers haven’t been to the forests of the West before, so who knows what could happen?

One thing I do remember vividly is the midges. When they say that the midges in Argyll and on Mull wear tacketty boots, they’re not kidding. Thankfully, midges don’t tend to bother me too much, I believe on account of the bitter taste all the coffee I drink gives my skin. But I digress. What I’m really looking forward to seeing is how the crews tackle the topography of the Argyll stages, which has been described by more than one former competitor as ‘intimidating’. I even heard of someone putting their clipboard over the side window so as to block out the steep drops on account of the fact it scared them and the driver into slowing down. Topographical features make motorsport interesting, it seems. Let’s see how the new generation of rally talent take to a slightly fiercer kind of nature…

Comments Off on To Argyll

Filed under 205 Ecosse Challenge, Rally

Comments are closed.