Retro Metro

Spotted this fine example of automotive history in Edinburgh the other day. The low resolution of my camera phone probably prevents you from making out any more than the most basic of details about this vehicle, but it is in fact the MG version of the once-venerable Metro. Not to be confused with the MG Metro 6R4, which – I was once told – shared only two parts with a standard Metro – this MG Metro was a 1.3-litre version of the driving school and OAP favourite featuring MG badges, fancy wheeltrims and, inexplicably, red seat belts.

As I’ve said many times before, anyone that keeps a car going for this long deserves serious kudos. I don’t want to get all preachy and self-righteous here, but we live in a time where cars appear to be designed to be thrown away and replaced when we get bored with them rather than when we stop being functional. I therefore salute the woman or man that has had the good sense to realise there’s nothing wrong with this vehicle and opted to keep it going rather than jacking it in for some soulless Fiesta or Corsa. In any case, roadworthy British Leyland cars are an increasingly rare commodity, and I’d be willing to wager that the value of this battle-worn bucket will only go up as time passes. Which reminds me, it’s been a long time since I last saw a Montego on the road…

MG Metro - a rare sight!

Comments Off on Retro Metro

Filed under Road Cars

Comments are closed.