A heartfelt thanks

It has been some time since I last wrote on here. I have been utterly horrified by events in Japan, to the extent that rallying, cars and motor sport have not mattered to me one iota for the last ten days. The scale of events has been nothing short of incomprehensible, and part of me feels I will never fully get to grips with what has happened – it is such a major set of happenings that rolling news and media reports render it almost unbelievable.

It is not normally my practice to post personal feelings or insights on here – I prefer to stick to writing about things that go zoom-zoom – but this is a rare occasion where I feel the internet can be of help in this regard. Quite simply, I want to say a massive thank you to all of those who have been in touch over the last week and a bit to offer messages of solidarity and support.

From reading my previous posts, you will have gathered that I spend a fair bit of time in Japan. What you perhaps don’t know, however, is that my fiancée is Japanese and was working in Tokyo when the quake struck.

Within hours texts, emails, phone calls and Facebook messages started coming in. People I hadn’t spoken to in months or years wanted to check in and make sure my wife-to-be and her family were safe and well. The number of messages was nothing short of staggering.

Although everyone close to me in Japan escaped the events that hit the north-east of the country unharmed, I know that there are many thousands who were not so fortunate. There will be an even greater number of people like me who will know someone who has been caught up in events, and I know a number of them will not have received as good news as I did.

I guess what I am trying to say is thank you to all of you that have been in touch to offer support – I am touched to know there are so many people out there who took the time out of their busy lives for even just twenty seconds to drop me a message. If you have time, please also pause for just a few seconds to pay respect to those who were not so fortunate. I certainly will be.

Thank you,

Leslie Mabon

Comments Off on A heartfelt thanks

Filed under Japan

Comments are closed.