Some really boring photos

No, the title of this piece isn’t some clever rhetorical device. These are just some really boring photos, albeit posted with good reason.

Some time during my travels in November, I noticed I post far too many photos – particularly from Japan – that come into two categories: the aesthetically pleasing (shrines, temples, skyscrapers) and the quirky (food, drinks). While these things aren’t bad to look at, I came to realise they don’t always give a true sense of what a place is like.

With that in mind, I spent the last week of my stay in the Far East focusing on the everyday, the banal and the downright ugly. When I got home, I went through my hard drive to look for odd photos from previous trips where I had noticed the same, keeping an eye out for things like telegraph wires, factories and industrial infrastructure among others.

The results would have been much better had I tuned my senses into looking out for such things far earlier in my travels – a project for a future trip, perhaps? Nonetheless, these are a selection of pics I came up with, shot as always with my trusty pocket camera. If Santa is reading, said camera is also getting a bit old now, and I could do with a newer one. To be fair to Japan, I also intend to repeat this thought experiment in other nations in future.

Vending machines, Omorikaigan, Ota Ward, Tokyo

Vending machines, Omorikaigan, Ota Ward, Tokyo

100_3990

Ueno Station, Ueno, Taito Ward, Tokyo

Pylons, North Osaka

Pylons, North Osaka

Train tracks, Yokohama

Train tracks, Yokohama

 

Coffee warehouse, East Ward, Fukuoka

Coffee warehouse, East Ward, Fukuoka

Shopping street, Takaban, Meguro Ward, Tokyo

Shopping street, Takaban, Meguro Ward, Tokyo

Bed Town, Kuzuha, Hirakata Ward, Osaka

Bed Town, Kuzuha, Hirakata Ward, Osaka

Apartment, Gakugei-Daigaku, Setagaya Ward, Tokyo (my wife's old house!)

Apartment, Gakugei-Daigaku, Setagaya Ward, Tokyo (my wife’s old house!)

Comments Off on Some really boring photos

Filed under Japan

Comments are closed.