Marble, oak and Bach: a garage fit for a rally team going places

The Zero Car

Following a grinning man beckoning me into a toilet goes against all my better instincts. Even more so when I’m told to lock the door behind. Somewhat apprehensively I comply and turn the latch. Classical music starts playing out of a speaker on the roof. The man gestures at the speaker, sniggers, and motions towards the lavatory pan, which opens automatically as we approach. He presses a button and the sound of running water plays. Relief flows as I realise I’ve been brought in here to be shown the fixtures and fittings. Before I’m allowed out the bathroom, I also have to admire the sink, the soap dispenser, and the bin.

That Hiromi Takeda has spent the best part of five minutes showing me round the bog is a fair indication of how proud he is of his new premises. This is not a private dwelling either – it’s a…

View original post 1,986 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

